Welcome to the large text version of Chichester City Council website. If you are here by mistake please follow this link to return to the standard layout.
Welcome to the dyslexia friendly version of Chichester City Council website. If you are here by mistake please follow this link to return to the standard layout.
Welcome to the Non Styling version of Chichester City Council website. If you are here by mistake please follow this link to return to the standard layout.
Chichester District Council - changes to bin collections over Christmas
Chichester City Council > News and events > Chichester District Council – changes to bin collections over Christmas

Chichester District Council - changes to bin collections over Christmas

Chichester District Council Media Release logo

Date of Release:  14 December 2020 

Residents reminded of changes to bin collections this Christmas

Residents in the Chichester District are being encouraged to make a note of the changes to their waste and recycling collections over the festive period.

The changes to waste and recycling collections over Christmas and New Year are as follows:

Normal Collection Day Pre-Christmas week Christmas week New Year

week

Post-New Year week 1 Post-New Year week 2 Return to Normal Collection Day
Monday Mon 14 Dec Mon 21 Dec Wed 30 Dec Wed 6 Jan Tue 12 Jan Mon 18 Jan
Tuesday Tue 15 Dec Tue 22 Dec Thurs 31 Dec Thu 7 Jan Wed 13 Jan Tue 19 Jan
Wednesday Wed 16 Dec Wed 23 Dec Sat 2 Jan Fri 8 Jan Thurs 14 Jan Wed 20 Jan
Thursday Thurs 17 Dec Thurs 24 Dec Mon 4 Jan Sat 9 Jan Fri 15 Jan Thurs 21 Jan
Friday Fri 18 Dec Tue 29 Dec Tue 5 Jan Mon 11Jan Sat 16 Jan Fri 22 Jan

 

Collection days will return to normal from Monday 18 January 2021. Residents can download and print out their own personalised waste, recycling and garden recycling collection dates by visiting www.chichester.gov.uk/wastecollectioncalendar

Any extra waste from the holiday period will be picked up by collection crews on the first collection after Christmas. If residents have any extra recycling, they need to ensure that it is kept dry in a loosely tied black sack and placed next to their recycling bin on the day of collection. Please remember to flatten and fold down cardboard.  All polystyrene foam and polythene wrapping film should be removed and placed in the waste bin as this cannot be recycled.

There will also be some slight changes to the clinical waste collections — all affected residents will be contacted directly.

The Garden Recycling Service will stop over Christmas and New Year from Friday 18 December and will start again on Monday 4 January 2021. Residents who are signed up to this service can use it to recycle their real Christmas tree.

Residents can also dispose of their real Christmas trees using the St Wilfrid’s Hospice charity collection scheme again this year, which will run from Wednesday 6 – Tuesday 26 January 2021. People can arrange to have their tree collected from their home by a volunteer in return for a donation to the hospice. Chichester District Council is supporting this scheme by ensuring that all the trees are recycled. People can find out more about this scheme by visiting https://stwh.co.uk/support-us/events/christmastrees or calling 01243 755 184.

“Over Christmas we tend to generate more waste than usual and so we are keen to help residents recycle as much as possible at this time of year,” says Councillor Penny Plant, Cabinet Member for Environment and Chichester Contract Services at Chichester District Council. “We have put together some tips for residents about which items can and cannot be recycled. These can be found in the winter issue of Initiatives magazine and on our social media channels.

“Following the success of the tree collection scheme last year, we are really pleased to be joining forces with St Wilfrid’s Hospice again to recycle as many Christmas trees as we can, while also supporting a fantastic cause. If you are not signed up to our Garden Recycling Service, this is a great way to ensure that your Christmas tree is recycled whilst helping to raise vital funds for the hospice charity.”