

Annual Awards Ceremony - Tuesday 1 March 2022

Order of Proceedings

The recipients of the awards, together with their personal guests and other invited guests, will be allocated reserved seats.

Recipients and their guests should arrive no later than 6.45 pm to be seated by 7.00 pm.

At 7.00pm, the Mayor Councillor John Hughes and the Mayoress Mrs Cherry Hughes preceded by the Mace and accompanied by the Town Clerk, the Mayor's Chaplain and members of the City Council will process and take their places.

Opening prayers will be said by The Chaplain to the Mayor of Chichester, The Reverend Canon David Nason.

The Mayor will introduce the proceedings and give background information to the awards.

As the 2020 awards were held by remote means, due to Covid restrictions to a limited audience, the citations for these award winners will be read by a Councillor or a nominated representative before proceeding to the 2021 award recipients.

The Town Clerk will then announce the names of the recipients for the 2021 awards and a citation will be read by a Member of the City Council or a nominated representative. The recipient will then receive the award from the Mayor; the recipient may make a brief reply.

2020 Awards

Civic Awards

Rev. Canon Tim Schofield
Citation to be read by Councillor Clare Apel
Mr Jimmy Upton
Citation to be read by Mr Mark Hillman
Mr David Sparrow
Citation to be read by Councillor Richard Plowman
Mr Vincent Gray
Citation to be read by Councillor Anne Scicluna
Rev. Canon David Nason
Citation to be read by Councillor Anne Scicluna
Ms Rachael Osborne
Citation to be read by Mr Graham Pound

Community Awards

Chichester Child Contact Centre
Citation to be read by Councillor Heather Barrie
Chichester Youth Adventure Trust
Citation to be read by Councillor Clare Apel
Chichester Area Talking News
Citation to be read by Councillor Debbie Carter

2021 Awards

Civic Awards

Mr Clive Hand
Citation to be read by Councillor Anne Scicluna
Prof. Philip Robinson
Citation to be read by Councillor Richard Plowman
Mr Chris Holgate
Citation to be read by the Town Clerk Rodney Duggua
Mrs Joyce Loten
Citation to be read by the Mayoress Cherry Hughes
Mr Martin Tucker
Citation to be read by Councillor Craig Gershater

Young Citizen Award

Miss Kyra Kemp Citation to be read by Councillor Maureen Corfield

Community Awards

Transition Chichester (to be received by Mrs Julia Sander)

Citation to be read by Councillor Polly Gaskin

Blue Plaque

Langley House (to be received by Ms Victoria Hamer)

Citation to be read Councillor Sarah Quail

The Mayor will then close the proceedings.

The Mayor and the Mayoress, preceded by the Mace and accompanied by the Town Clerk, the Mayor's Chaplain, the Deputy Mayor and members of the City Council; will process from the ceremony.

The Award recipients and their personal guests, together with the personal guests of the City Council will leave the Cathedral.

Other members of the public are kindly requested to leave at this point.