Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Community Affairs


The Community Affairs Committee meet five times during a year and will hold a Special Meeting of the Committee in April to determine Discretionary Grant Applications. Additional Special Meetings for Discretionary Grants may be held later in the year if a balance remains in the Grants budget.

The Committee will consider, make recommendations and decisions as authorised on all matters concerning community relations, including Mayoral appointments, representation on outside bodies, tourism, emergency planning, local rights and traditions, and the maintenance of appropriately high standards of amenities and facilities provided for the City by other authorities and organisations; allocation of grants for projects from the Discretionary Grant Budget; City floral planting and all other matters relevant to the interests of the City not falling within the Terms of Reference of one of the other Standing Committees.

For 2023-2024, membership consists of 12 Councillors:

Councillor Clare Apel (LD) – Chairman
Councillor Stuart Loxton (LD) – Vice-Chairman
Councillor Rhys Chant (LD)
Councillor Judy Gershater (LD)
Councillor Gareth Hitchman (Labour)
Councillor Shiva Knight (LD)
Councillor Joanne Kondabeka (LD)
Councillor Ken Squire (LD)
The Mayor – (Councillor Craig Gershater)
The Deputy Mayor – (Councillor Maureen Corfield)
Chairman of the Finance Committee – (Councillor Anne Scicluna)
Chairman of the Planning & Conservation Committee (Councillor Ann Butler)

Agendas are published and linked to separately for the current year only.

Links to agendas and papers for previous years are currently being added to the appropriate minutes pages.

Minutes are available in online and PDF formats from 1 September 2018 to the present. For minutes older than that, only PDF download is available.

If you need any older minutes in an alternative format, please contact:

Agendas 2023/2024

Minutes 2023/2024

Minutes 2022/2023

Minutes 2021/2022

Minutes 2020/2021

Minutes 2019/2020

Minutes 2018/2019

Minutes 2017/2018 – PDF download only

Skip to content