Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to footer

Planning & Conservation


The Planning & Conservation Committee meets every month. On average over 500 planning applications each year are referred to the City Council for a recommendation and the subsequent recommendation is forwarded to Chichester District Council (the planning authority) within the 21-day deadline.

The Committee consider all other planning matters concerning the City, including liaison with potential developers or any agencies proposing change in the built environment; all matters concerning highways and other means of access in adjacent to the City, or likely to have any impact upon the City; Street naming and signing; all matters concerning the environment in the City and adjacent to it, or likely to have an impact upon the City; and operation of City Environmental matters within an agreed budget.

For 2023-2024, membership consists of 9 Councillors:

Councillor Ann Butler – Chairman
Councillor James Vivian – Vice-Chairman
Councillor Judy Gershater
Councillor Gareth Hitchman
Councillor Sean McHale
Councillor Ken Squire
The Mayor – (Councillor Craig Gershater)
The Deputy Mayor – (Councillor Maureen Corfield)
Chairman of the Community Affairs Committee – (Councillor Clare Apel)
Chairman of the Finance Committee – (Councillor Anne Scicluna)

Agendas are published and linked to separately for the current year only.

Links to agendas and papers for previous years are currently being added to the appropriate minutes pages.

Minutes are available in online and PDF formats from 1 September 2018 to the present. For minutes older than that, only PDF download is available.

If you need any older minutes in an alternative format, please contact:

Agendas 2023/2024

Minutes 2023/2024

Minutes 2022/2023

Minutes 2021/2022

Minutes 2020/2021

Minutes 2019/2020

Minutes 2018/2019

Minutes 2017/2018 – PDF download only

Skip to content